Center for Environmentally
Beneficial Catalysis

  • Home
  • CEBC Faculty Awards and Honors

CEBC Faculty Awards and Honors

Friday, May 1, 2009

Mike Dudukovic, the Laura and William Jens Professor of Environmental Engineering (WUStL) and Associate Director of CEBC, received the American Chemical Society E. V. Murphree Award in Industrial & Engineering Chemistry. Professor Dudukovic received this honor for developing new, practical methods to quantify multi-scale kinetic-transport interactions, and new models and experimental tools to study multiphase reactor systems. Mike was highlighted in a recent Chemical and Engineering News article, and accepted his award at the March 2009 American Chemical Society meeting.

Daryle Busch, Roy A. Roberts Distinguished Professor of Chemistry (KU) and CEBC Deputy Director received the Midwest American Chemical Society Achievement Award, Oct 2008. The award is conferred annually on a scientist who has made meritorious contributions to the advancement of pure or applied chemistry, chemical education, and the profession of chemistry. Professor Busch was honored not only for his scientific contributions in homogeneous catalysis, bioinorganic and supramolecular chemistry, but also in education and leadership.

Bala Subramaniam, Dan F. Servey Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering and CEBC Director, received the Dr. G.S.Laddha CHEMCON Distinguished Lectureship Award given by the Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers at their annual meeting in December 2008.  At the August 2008 American Chemical Society National meeting in Philadelphia, Bala was recognized at the ACS Industry & Engineering Chemistry Research (IECR) journal's 100th Year Symposium for being a co-author of an IECR article that ranks 37/100 most cited articles since 1975. Bala was also recently named to the Editorial Board of Industry and Engineering Chemistry Research journal.


CEBC Calendar

October 16 & 17, Monday & Tuesday - CEBC Fall Industry Advisory Board Meeting
Final Agenda - click here

Monday 12:00-7:30 p.m. at the Adams Alumni Center, 1266 Oread Avenue, Lawrence
Tuesday 8:30-noon at the CEBC Complex, 1501 Wakarusa Drive, Lawrence

October 17, Tuesday - CEBC Colloquium
Dr. Henrik Rudolph, Ministry of Defense of The Netherlands
"How to successfully contribute to the world of scientific publishing"

4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m., 1501 Wakarusa Drive, Building B seminar room

November 7, Tuesday - CEBC Industry Colloquium
Dr. Brandon Emme, Cellulose Team Leader, ICM, Inc.
"Title TBA"

9:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m., 1501 Wakarusa Drive, Building B seminar room
10:00 a.m. discussion with students

November 8, Wednesday - Mandatory Lab Safety Meeting
All researchers at 1501 Wakarusa Dr. must attend

9:00 a.m. in Building B seminar room

December 5, Tuesday - CEBC Industry Colloquium
Dr. John Warner, President & Chief Technology Officer, Warner Babcock Institute for Green Chemistry
"Title TBA"

9:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m., 1501 Wakarusa Drive, Building B seminar room
10:00 a.m. discussion with students

KU Today
48 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Pharmacy school No. 2 nationally for NIH funding