Center for Environmentally Beneficial Catalysis
  • Home
  • CEBC Participation at North American Catalysis Society Meeting

CEBC Participation at North American Catalysis Society Meeting

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

Several CEBC researchers will be participating at the 21st North American Meeting of the North American Catalysis Society, being held in San Francisco, CA from June 7 to 12, 2009.

Five technical presentations will be given on CEBC research:

  1. "Carbonylation of Aryl Olefins and Alcohols using immobilized Pd Complex Catalysts," Bibhas R. Sarkar, Yuanchun Li* and Raghunath V. Chaudhari
  2. "Design, Synthesis and Characterization of Novel Nano-metal Catalyst for Polyol Hydrogenolysis," Debdut Roy,* Bala Subramaniam and Raghunath V. Chaudhari
  3. "1-butene/isobutane alkylation catalyzed by binary mixtures of ionic liquid and mineral acid," Shengwei Tang, Aaron Scurto, Christopher Lyon, Bala Subramaniam*
  4. "Ozonolysis Reactions in Dense Phase CO2," Andrew M. Danby*, Bala Subramaniam and Daryle H. Busch
  5. "Continuous Homogeneous Hydroformylation with Nanofiltration for Retention of Polymer Supported Rh Catalyst Complexes," Jing Fang*, Ranjan Jana, Jon Tunge, Bala Subramaniam

Prof. Bala Subramaniam will Co-Chair the session "Catalysis for the Synthesis of Chemicals" along with Dr. Eric Stangland of Dow Chemical. In addition, CEBC Industrial Liaison Director Dr. Darryl Fahey will host an information booth in the exhibition hall.

CEBC also congratulates PhD student Jing Fang on receiving the Kokes Student Travel Award to present her research.

CEBC Calendar

March 4, Thursday - Industry Colloquium 
9:00 a.m., via Zoom
Allyn Kaufmann, US Whitespace & Innovation Lead
"Serial Innovation in Consumer Heathcare - Intersection of Chemistry and the Consumer"

March 10, Wednesday - Mandatory Safety Meeting 
9:00 a.m., via Zoom
Mandatory for all CEBC researchers working at 1501 Wakarusa

March 25, Thursday - Industry Colloquium 
9:00 a.m., via Zoom
Nikola Juhasz, Global Technical Director, Sustainability
Sun Chemical Corporation, Carlstadt, NJ
"Sustainability of Packaging Industry"

April 1, Thursday - Industry Colloquium 
9:00 a.m., via Zoom
Sagar Sarsani, Project Leader
Sabic, Sugarland, TX
"Chemical Industry R&D Career Pathways"

April 12 & 13, Monday & Tuesday - Spring Advisory Boards Meeting
& Project Evaluations

1:00-3:00 p.m. each day, via Zoom
Click here to register

KU Today
48 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Pharmacy school No. 2 nationally for NIH funding